Wipfli-RWHC Cost Champions Award

The Wipfli-RWHC Cost Champions Award has been launched to “encourage and share implemented cost savings ideas suggested by a team or individual employed by a RWHC rural hospital. Click here for the program description 

Click for the Wipfli-RWHC Cost Champions Award application . Applications are due by end of January to Holly S Pokrandt, CPA | Partner | Wipfli LLP


Wipfli-RWHC Cost Champions Award Recipients


  • First Place ( $1,500) Sauk Prairie Healthcare: David Pulvermacher, Maintenance Mechanic
  • Honorable Mention ($500): Stoughton Hospital Association: Liz Touchett, Rehab Services Manager
  • Honorable Mention ($500): Mile Bluff Medical Center: Rebecca Oetzman, Accounting Director


  • First Place ( $1,500): Fort HealthCare: Greg Dempsey, Facilities Manager
  • Honorable Mention ($500):  Southwest Health Center: Todd Lull, Director of IT
  • Honorable Mention ($500): Sauk Prairie Memorial Hospital: Accounting Director, Director of Materials Management; Rick Sauer, Director of Financial Services; Lynn Dederich, Distribution Assis- tant; Jody Cotton, Distribution Assistant; Holly Halberslaben, Clinic Manager; and Jennifer Ekenberg, Registration Specialist


  • First Place ( $1,500): Mauston: Jodi Lankey, Purchasing Agent
  • Honorable Mention ($500):  Stoughton: Julie Stenbroten, Home Health Manager
  • Honorable Mention ($500): Rhinelander: Lisa Michaelis-Alft, Regional Director of Lab Services


  • First Place: Monroe Clinic: Rhonda Roenneburg, Director of Imaging Services
  • Honorable Mention: Fort Healthcare: Sally Fetherston, Materials Manager
  • Honorable Mention: Stoughton Hospital: Autumn Kumlien, Clinical Dietitian, and Penny Bauman, Senior PC/LAN Analyst


  • First Place: Ministry Door County Medical Center: Dale Massey, Manager of Patient Registration
  • Honorable Mention: Southwest Health Center: Nicole Adrian, Pharmacy Purchasing Control Technician
  • Honorable Mention: St. Clare Hospital: Melinda Schoen, CQI Director


  • First Place: Vernon Memorial Healthcare: Terry Bullock, Accounts Payable Clerk, Jessica Bjerkos, Accountant, and Lynn Taylor, Accountant
  • Honorable Mention: Prairie du Chien Memorial Hospital: Rita Kazda, Food Services Supervisor, and Tara Ringler, Dietician
  • Honorable Mention: St. Croix Regional Medical Center (SCRMC): Tara Yunker, Director of Pharmacy, and Anita Lundquist, Manager of Unity Pharmacy


  • First Place: Boscobel Area Medical Center: Nursing Staff, Fair Changes Scheduling Process that Reduced Overtime.
  • Honorable Mention: Stoughton Hospital Association: Public Relations Department, Consolidating Multiple Newsletters into One Quarterly Publication
  • Honorable Mention: Richland Hospital: Jim Summwalt, Revising Procedures for Maintaining Hospital's Boiler System


  • First Place: Reedsburg Memorial Hospital: CRNAs, Revisions to Anesthesia Gas Use & Flow Rates
  • Honorable Mention: Prairie du Chien Memorial Hospital: Kelli McKee, Elimination of Unnecessary Paper Reports
  • Honorable Mention: Richland Hospital: Monica Fry, Reduction in Cost of Digital Record Keeping